My Cart


Ambassador Experiences Aus Day 2022

As our state neared COVID peak period on Australia Day, this year our SA Councils had to either postpone, move to virtual or pivot to smaller, invite only gatherings to deliver citizenship cermonies and honour their local Citizen of the Year Awards.  We salute our member Councils for their agility during this time.  We are also truly appreciative of the adaptability and generosity of our Australia Day Ambassadors that were allocated to a Council for Australia Day 2022.  Some of our Ambassadors could not be present face to face due to COVID impacts in some instance they were able to share video messages, attended zoom livestreams and sent messages of support and reflection.   Many of our Ambassadors were able to be present and welcomed our newest citizens to our state and recognised incredible contrbutors to local communities.  

Find out where our Ambassadors went on Australia Day 2022
Please click on the Council name for more information and click on the Ambassador name to read their speech

Adelaide Plains Council  -   Barry Lewis

City of Adelaide  -   Edgar Agius OAM JP

City of Charles Sturt  -   Shazia Choudhry

City of Holdfast  -  Cate Fowler AM

City of Marion  -  Samoda Silva

City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters  -  Joel Bayliss

City of Playford  -  Katrina Webb OAM

City of Tea Tree Gully  -  Vicky Welgraven AM

City of Unley  -  Emeritus Professor Alison Mackinnon AM

Clare & Gilbert Valleys Council  -  John Shepherd AM

Coorong District Council  -  Kate Swaffer

District Council of Ceduna  -  Professor Richard Bruggemann

District Council of Grant  -  Major-General Vikram Madan OAM VSM

District Council of Karoonda East Murray  -  Michael O'Connell AM APM

District Council of Lower Eyre Peninsula  -  Ingrid Kennerley

District Council of Yankalilla  -  Gabrielle Kelly AM

Kimba District Council  -  Professor Peter Langridge

(Ambassador to attend future experience due to local COVID impacts)

Mount Barker District Council  -  Professor Rob Morrison OAM

Port Augusta City Council  -  Wayne Anthoney OAM 

(Ambassador attended virtually due to local COVID impacts)

Port Pirie Regional Council  -  Major (Ret'd) Paul Rosenzweig OAM JP 

(Ambassador to attend future experience due to local COVID impacts)

Southern Mallee District Council - Lameroo  -  Samela Harris

Southern Mallee District Council - Pinnaroo  -  Dr Peter Cahalan

Tatiara District Council  -  Dr Robert 'Bob' Irving

The Rural City of Murray Bridge  -  Anthony Fioravanti


Stay up to date

Sign up to our mailing list